Skip to content

Mini DIY: Canvas Bag Lettering

August 5, 2011

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE looking at DIY projects online. Mainly on Pinterest and Design*Sponge. I don’t usually end up making them but it’s still fun to see how creative people are and comforting to know that if the economy ever completely goes down the toilet, you totally can make anything.

A few weeks ago, I bought three canvas bags at Hobby Lobby to use as reusable grocery bags. I’ll be honest – I don’t always remember to bring my own bags with me to the grocery store, but I really do try. Did you know that Target gives you 5 cents off for every bag you bring? That’s a small amount but it’s definitely worth it and you’ll feel like a better, more aware citizen of the world. Anyways, I decided that I wanted to make my bag my own by writing a meaningful phrase on it.

Materials: alphabet stencils, a ruler, blue painters tape, and a green fabric marker + canvas bag

Basically, I just measured and carefully placed the letters,  taped them down on the bag, and then traced them. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. So easy a caveman could do it, in fact.

It was incredibly simple to do but now every time I see those words, I’m instantly reminded of a message that I would do well to keep in my heart all the time.  I chose “Too blessed to be stressed” because forgetting how fortunate I am and how many blessings I have is a reoccurring theme in my life.  Perhaps too optimistically, I had imagined that after April 27, 2011, I would forever be grateful at every moment and less capable of irritation over immensely first world problems, but no, the heart, my heart specifically, doesn’t work quite that way. I can’t see the tornado damage from my new apartment at all, so I can almost forget that the tornado happened and how I felt in the days and weeks that followed. But then I start driving towards Starbucks, towards Ulta, towards anywhere on McFarland Boulevard, and suddenly you can see everything – crushed homes, crumpled cars, trees snapped like matchsticks – and it hits me like a ton of bricks every time. Yet there is good at work, too — the tree in front of where my house stood, despite its battered braches, is growing green buds and leaves that I see each time I drive past and it is a reminder that things get better, that there is always the potential for growth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 11:33 pm

    beautiful post! loving the catchphrase, mer! i try to remind myself of that a lot too.

  2. August 6, 2011 1:54 am

    wow, what a great mantra – “too blessed to be stressed” – i need to keep that one in mind!!!

    i used to decorate canvas bags back in high school and sell them! it was a lot of fun. i’d make a ton of stencils/stamps =)

Leave a Reply

