Skip to content

“Meridith Food”

August 4, 2011

For the past few years, my friends and family have fondly referred to my diet as “Meridith food.”

I don’t think my eating habits are that strange, but since according to a recent article in the Wall Street Journal most Americans consume salad only 36 times a year, perhaps I am more atypical than I had originally thought. I eat a lot of veggies and mixed greens or spinach with every meal — my body craves them. I do, in fact, monitor my protein intake (everyone asks me this so I feel like I have to go ahead and say that) and I usually choose tofu, beans, or a veggie burger to go with my greens. I probably shouldn’t admit this – no, I know I shouldn’t admit this – but one time (today) I roasted 3/4  of one of those bags of broccoli and cauliflower, a small package of mushrooms, a small zucchini, and nearly an entire onion for lunch and ate it ALL. …yes, I am still full. And you know salsa is the new ketchup, right?

Have you guys listened any of the Joy the Baker podcasts? I just started and they’re boyfriend-friendly, because even Drew likes them. Joy and Tracy are hilarious, and you should listen to them at http://www.homefries.com

When we were in Oklahoma for the family reunion in July, I went into an antiques store with my dad and grandparents and ended up purchasing a set of hand-painted dishes from Spain. After studying abroad outside of Madrid last summer, I knew I had to have them. I used to refuse to go antique shopping when I was younger but now like it. There’s something so cool about things that have been used and loved. Here they are:

I love pretty and interesting dishes.

And now I’m off to bake four dozen cookies for an open house hosted by my internship tomorrow! I’m thinking espresso chocolate chip and oatmeal with white chocolate, craisins, and pretzel pieces. Sweet and salty, mmm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 12:54 am

    haha meridith food looks a lot like natalie food. i’m a bottomless pit when it comes to veggies, sweet potatoes, chocolate, and cereal haha

    those painted ceramics remind me SO much of ones that are sold in italy, in florence and chianti! that’s cool that you studied abroad in spain; i studied abroad in italy last fall!

  2. Dee Schrade permalink
    August 12, 2011 8:44 am

    The dishes look lovely, just like you!! N
    Nana Dee

Leave a comment