Skip to content

Browned Butter Brownies

August 2, 2011

This morning, I think I baked the best brownies I’ve ever made. When I want to show up with sweets in tow, I usually choose to bake cookies, but a brownie recipe found on one my favorite blogs of all time, The Little Red House, caught my eye. Sheena Jibson, the author of The Little Red House, is my idol.

The start ingredient of these brownies is browned butter, which is stirred on the stovetop before adding the other ingredients and baking in the oven. I’ve always wanted to try using browned butter in something, and let me tell you, this definitely won’t be the last time I use it. I’d make it just for the beautiful scent it creates!

Browned Butter Brownies

Ingredients:
-10 Tbsp unsalted butter
-1 cup sugar (I used granulated for the first time in a while! I’m still addicted to sucanat, so that’s what I’ve been using lately)
-3/4 cup cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s unsweetened)
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-2 eggs (I used egg whites)
-1/2 cup all purpose flour
-1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

Heat oven to 325 degrees F.


The start of something really good.
Heat a skillet over medium high heat and add slices of butter. Stir continuously while butter foams.

See those brown flecks? That’s when you know you’re on the right track.
Continue stirring until butter turns light brown and the most lovely, nutty aroma you’ve ever experienced wafts through the air. Turn the heat all the way down.

Add sugar to browned butter. Taste this and feel as though you have gone to heaven.

Add cocoa and stir until combined.
Take off heat and let mixture cool down a little until it’s just warm.

Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, and continue to stir.

Add flour and salt, and stir until just combined.

Pour batter into 10″ tart pan or 8″x8″ pan and bake in oven for 20-25 minutes.

You’ll know they’re done when a toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool if you can wait that long and then share!!


One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 10:30 pm

    these look delicious and i love your pictures!! i’m a chocolate girl hands down, so these are perfect =)

Leave a Reply

