Skip to content

What’s for dinner?

July 29, 2011

I love to cook dinner, but sometimes when I’m pressed for time during the week, it just ain’t happenin’. That’s where pita pizza comes in!

This summer, my family had a daily routine of texting one another to ask, “What should we have dinner?” and then all puzzling over a solution for the majority of the afternoon. When we all had to work late last night, I proposed pita pizza. My dad responded, “What’s that?” So…what exactly is pita pizza? It’s just like making homemade mini pizzas but with a pita bread base. You can definitely make your own pita bread – it’s easy and I’ve done it before, but when I don’t want to wait for the dough to rise and then bake, store-bought whole wheat pita works just as well.

Start by preheating the oven to 400 degrees F (Drew insists that 500 works better and I think that’s a great idea…if you like burnt things). I cut my pita in half and then peeled the two sides apart to make it more thin crust style, but you can also leave it whole. Spread with tomato sauce and add whatever toppings your little heart desires. I chose feta (my favorite! can’t get enough), broccoli, onion, mushroom, and tomato, and popped that baby in the oven for around 8 minutes.

Happy Friday! I’m off to get packing whilst listening to the Florence + the Machine CD for the 586th time in three days. Sorry I’m not sorry.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha Lovelady Hansen permalink
    July 29, 2011 3:31 pm

    Wow! This sounds great! Delicious, healthy & easy!! Thanks, Meredith.

  2. July 29, 2011 3:53 pm

    Thanks, Ms. Martha! Hope you’re having a good July!

Leave a Reply

