Skip to content

July, recapped

July 27, 2011
tags: ,

The past few weeks have consisted of:

a family reunion in Oklahoma
Y’all, the temps remained above 100 degrees the entire time. One day, I looked at the car dashboard and it read 114 degrees. Lemme tell ya, it made me grateful for Alabama, even with all of her humidity (but honestly, it’s rained a lot here lately so it makes it seem way more bearable…). While we were there, a big fire happened in the grass along the interstate for at least a mile, hopping over bridges – all because of one tiny cigarette. That sort of thing is scary.

My dad, mom, sister, and I made the trek to the Oklahoma Museum of Art while we were there and were fortunate enough to see the “1934: A New Deal for Artists” exhibit. The majority of the exhibit was dominated by scenes of urban and industrial America, but this gem of a piece – Radio Broadcast by Julia Eckel enchanted me. The woman is so beautiful and the color of her dress was even more perfect in person.

cooking dinner
If only I had people to cook for all the time! When it’s just me, I’ll throw together a salad or something easy, but when I’m with my family, I’ll pore over recipes and try new dishes, like the sauteed zucchini with onion, sunflower seeds, and dill we had as a side last night. I’ve decided I’m going to need to have a dinner club this fall.

watching Sex and the City for the first time
It’s true. I finally allowed myself and yes, the reruns are now my summer guilty pleasure. I’m trying to convince myself not to buy the whole series on DVD. When you don’t own DVDs, having a rerun come on is happy little surprise. It’s better this way (or so I’ll just keep telling myself).

shopping for my new apartment
I think I’ve been to nearly every store that sells any kind of remotely home-related product. It seemed like I was being excessive at first, but then I had the realization that “Oh right, I lost everything” and it seemed less so.

working
Again, I’m so thankful to have had the opportunity to work at Kumon again. Each day presented its own challenges, but I feel privileged to have been apart of the children’s lives. I will miss them and my great coworkers a lot. Educators deserve a lot more respect than they are often given. I admire elementary teachers for their patience even more after the past few months.

two dentist visits
I keep reminding myself how lucky I am to be able to go and to have healthy teeth, but man, getting a filling and sealances in one go just isn’t much fun. It took 6 hours for the numbness to wear off today! A lopsided smile is really cute.

learning In Design
I’ve often kicked myself for not trying to learning about design sooner. I’m using Lynda.com tutorials and it’s going pretty slowly. I know how to create a new document, though! Does that count for something?

yoga
It had been absent from my life for too long and I plan to not let that happen again.
Behold, my summer attire:

** We all know I would never actually say that.

reading again
Like every other college student, it’s hard for me to find time to read for pleasure during the school year. I can proudly say that in the past few weeks I’ve read Persepolis Iand II by Marjane Satrapi, The Help by Kathryn Stockett and Room by Emma Donaghue. I recommend all of them. The first two deal with conflict – Persepolis with Satrapi’s childhood in a troubled Iran during the 1980s (it’s written as a graphic novel and is so awesome because of that) and The Help with racial tensions in Mississippi during the early 1960s, and are all three unsettling in their own way. I will warn you, however, that I found Room, which is told by a 5 year old boy who has lived with only his mother in one room his entire life, to be unsettling in its own special way — I can’t explain or it will ruin it.

relishing my last bit of time at home with my family
How wonderful it has been to have had such a refuge for the past three months! I am excited to return to college and get back in the swing of things, but I know I’ll miss my parents so much. Coming home was certainly an adjustment, but this summer has been wonderful and I can’t imagine any place that would have been better for my healing process.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 6:25 pm

    you are lookin’ pretty badass in those sunglasses and yoga clothes. l-o-v-e it. this recap was really nice to read because i can relate to your experiences of being back home from college. i’m heading into my last year at school (are you too?) yet this is my first summer that i’ve spent entirely at home – it’s nice to be with my parents – and like you said, have people to cook for – but at the same time i have this gut feeling that this will be my last prolonged period ever living at home because i think i’m really ready to just start my own separate life you know? in a new invigorating way.

    i’ve finally had time to read too! i started reading infinite jest but oh man that killed my brain so i put it on hold and have just been reading random things here and there.

  2. July 29, 2011 4:03 pm

    you’re sweet! yep, it’s my senior year, too – so weird, where did the time go? Last time I checked, fourth grade was OLD. I think it’s going to be my last prolonged time at home and saying that out loud makes me sad, but you’re right, it’s exciting, too! I can go anywhere I want from here! I’m jealous of all your lovely food experiences out west…I wish Alabama had more interesting places to eat and shop.

Leave a Reply

