Skip to content

Pumpkin Muffins in July!

July 5, 2011

I made pumpkin muffins yesterday afternoon. I know what you’re probably thinking – “Wait…it’s July… and to top it off, you made those on July 4th!” Yes, yes, I did, but when I wanted to make some sort of muffins and then found a lone can of organic pumpkin hiding out in the back of my pantry, I knew it was meant to be. I’ll be honest, these are “healthy” muffins- they’re lower in sugar, and are made of whole wheat and egg whites and walnuts. Healthy, y’all.

Here’s the recipe (adapted from The Flying Onion):

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins with Raisins & Walnuts
(makes 12 muffins)

Wet Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup sucanat sugar (you can use cane sugar or regular sugar, too)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt

Wet Ingredients:
1 cup canned pumpkin
3 tablespoons egg whites (or a large egg – whatever you have on hand)
1/3 cup water
1/4 cup olive oil (or canola oil)
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup walnuts

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) Combine wet ingredients in medium-sized bowl.
3) Combine wet ingredients in large bowl.
4) Stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients until just moistened. Don’t mix past this point – it could mean bad news in the form of harder, denser muffins. I think this may be why mine turned out a little smaller than I’d hoped.
5) Fold raisins and walnuts into muffin mixture.
6) Spoon muffin mixture into pre-greased muffin tray and bake for around 20 minutes.
7) Cool for 10 minutes, then remove and let cool for longer on wire rack.

Of course you can omit the raisins and walnuts if that’s not your thing. It’s not my sister’s, so I always spoon her plain batter into a couple muffin cups before adding the mix-ins to the rest of the batter.

I like these muffins, and they’d make an especially nice breakfast crumbled over some plain yogurt. The smell of pumpkin, cinnamon, and nutmeg makes me excited for fall but in the meantime, I’m perfectly content with enjoying the best of both worlds – fall muffins AND summer strawberries and blueberries. Hurrah! Hope you had a Happy 4th of July!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

