Skip to content

MMM Sauce

July 3, 2011

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I have a daily blog reading ritual. There are dozens of food and cooking blogs saved on my bookmarks bar, and I love finding new things to try. One sweet blog I often read, Peas and Thank You, is written by a former lawyer turned vegan mom and chef extraordinaire. I’ve seen so many people raving  about her “Mmm sauce” lately and  knew I had to make it. Described as being similar to hummus, I suspected that I would like it, but man oh man, this stuff is DANGEROUS. I just made it a few hours ago and have already made quite the dent in the 1 1/2 cups this recipe makes.

In food processor, combine 1/4 c. vegetable oil (or any kind of oil), 1/4 c. almonds, 1/3 c. water, and 1/4 c. chickpeas, drained and rinsed, and blend until smooth.

Add 1/4 c. nutritional yeast**, 2 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice (although I misread the directions and added over 1/4 c. — it’s just a bit more lemony), 1 tsp. minced garlic, 1/4 tsp. salt, 3/4 tsp. curry powder (I used the kind I bought at the Atlanta Farmer’s Market during my birthday celebration), 1/2 tsp. oregano, and 1/2 tsp. cilantro, and blend until smooth.

Transfer to bowl and refrigerate for up to a week. MMM!

Seriously, don’t make this unless you have someone to help you eat it, or unless you’re prepared to eat it all yourself.

**If you’re saying, “But Meridith, what in the world is ‘nutritional yeast’?”, it’s technically a fungus made with sugarcane and beet molasses, and is used in a lot of vegan recipes. It tastes kind of cheesy and I promise is less weird than it sounds. You can find it at any health food store, including Earthfare.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

