Skip to content

Glimpses of the Weekend I

June 21, 2011

I can’t believe that before this week I had never had a gin and tonic. I can already tell that it’s going to be one of my favorite things this summer. Being 21 has been strange so far — I still have those thoughts of “Am I doing something illegal?” “What if the cashier says I can’t buy this bottle of wine?” in the back of my mind. I drink very rarely, so my “overindulgence” has become a running joke in my family.

Auburn had an Art Night downtown on Saturday, and my whole family was able to go together. Since my parents both work full-time and my sister and I have different work schedules, going somewhere all together has become somewhat of a rare occurrence. The Art Night was originally scheduled for Friday but was postponed because of thunderstorms (which, yes, still scare me a little). It was still pretty hot and humid, but so fun to see families out and enjoying local artists’ work. I love events that bring the community together.

For Fathers’ Day on Sunday, I decided I wanted to give my dad a nice lunch and spent a lot of time poring over recipes online. My mom, sister, and I ended up making five spice- crusted shrimp, oven-fried panko chicken, Israeli couscous with sugar snap peas, roasted asparagus, squash, zucchini, and cherry tomatoes, hummus, and a mixed greens salad and  a baguette on the side. My mom has started doing a lot of shopping for produce at Sam’s lately just because I’m home. When it comes to leafy greens, I can eat just about anyone under a table.

My dad has always loved strawberry rhubarb pie but rarely has the opportunity to eat it, so when I found a recipe in the Wall Street Journal a few weeks ago, I knew I had to try my hand at making it. In case you don’t know, rhubarb is a plant with pink-red stalks that kind of look like celery and have a bitter taste. It’s usually paired with strawberries because they’re sweet, but I’ve also heard raspberries and rhubarb go well together.

You can find the recipe here: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704904604576335241751895556.html

The only thing that I omitted was the bitters, and the pie still turned out just fine. My dad didn’t really care for the orange peel because it added a much more citrus-y taste that isn’t traditional for rhubarb pies. When I started worrying about how imperfect the pie looked, he was sweet enough to say,”It’s okay! Ugly pies taste better.”

Mmm.

I hope you had a lovely weekend, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

