Skip to content

Tassajara Warm Red Cabbage Salad

June 20, 2011

One of my favorite food photographers and cooks is Heidi Swanson, who has a blog entitled 101 Cookbooks and recently wrote her own cookbook, Super Natural Cooking. I’ve fallen into the habit of saving up recipes and then not making them, but this morning, I woke up determined to make cooking happen. I made Tassajara Warm Red Cabbage Salad, which is a really interesting and filling dish that would be perfect for a light dinner. I don’t usually eat cabbage in warm dishes, or at all, but I’ll have to more often. My mom was hesitant to try the salad, but a couple days later and she’s already requested that I make it again. Ingredients are red cabbage, onion, sunflower seeds, golden raisins, feta, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and rosemary. Here is the recipe, which I altered a little bit: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/tassajara-warm-red-cabbage-salad-recipe.html

Oh! In case you were wondering like I was, I should probably mention that “Tassajara”  is derived from the Tassajara Zen Center, which is a Buddhist monastery in California that published a cookbook, The Tassajara Recipe Book, that contained this recipe originally.

I’m really loving sucanat, which is the dried sugar cane juice that I bought at the farmer’s market in Atlanta a few weeks ago. It’s worked perfectly in place of any type of brown or cane sugar thus far. I just need to find out where I can buy it locally! If you live near a Whole Foods, you’re in luck.

In lieu of a big farm-style kitchen table, I’ve been looking for a piece of wood to use for taking pictures of food. I found an artists’ drawing table on sale at Hobby Lobby and plan to rough it up and stain it soon. The kitchen counters in my house in Auburn are lovely but so not photogenic. I really really really want to learn how to use my camera properly and more about using light to my advantage.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

