Skip to content

Amélie

May 13, 2011
tags:

I feel so much for Spain right now after their 5.1 magnitude earthquake yesterday. Thousands of residents of Lorca slept outside last night because they were afraid to return to their homes or were told not to do so by the police. After spending last summer in Alcalá de Henares, it’s a place that is close to my heart and my thoughts are with the families of the nine dead and all those who are injured and scared.

When I first returned home rom Tuscaloosa a couple of days after the tornado, it felt strange to be in Auburn . It was eery to walk outside in the quiet and sunshine among perfectly intact homes and trees. It seemed odd that everyone in Target or Old Navy was going about their normal business; that time hadn’t just stopped. I didn’t blame anyone who hadn’t seen the devastation in  Tuscaloosa or wasn’t personally affected. It would be difficult to  understand and sense the gravity of the situation — of course they were going to keep living their normal lives, what else could I possibly expect them to do? I would have done the same. I did do the same when disaster struck in Japan. It’s incredibly difficult to put yourself in someone else’s shoes and feel what they feel, and I don’t know that there is a way to do that, especially in a situation of extreme tragedy like that of Tuscaloosa or Japan. I don’t know what the moral of the story is except for perhaps it’s important to simply realize that we incapable of fully understanding and that it’s best to “be kind, for everyone you know is fighting a hard battle.”

I’m still in the process of healing. I’ve started having nightmares, a few of those involving tornadoes in the distance. In the past week alone, though, I can tell by my thoughts that I have recovered a great deal. Trust me, I have realized all along how fortunate I am, especially in comparison to those who lost loved ones two weeks ago and thus,  lost  even more than did I. I don’t pity myself. I am happy.

I have a car! It’s a brand-new red Honda Fit and I love love love it. I didn’t expect to buy one so soon and have been borrowing my aunt’s old car for the past couple of weeks. The crisis in Japan means that Hondas are becoming few and far between in the U.S. , so when my dad located a red one in Columbus, we need we needed to buy it now. I named my last car Finny, so I suppose it’s a tradition now – this one’s name is Amélie. It’s pretty efficient and you don’t have to get the oil changed every 3,000 miles, but instead every 6 months to a year. My mom also told me that she found a study that listed the Honda Fit as the car the least likely to need repairs this year, and that makes me really happy.  I love how big the windshield is because it brings more light into the car and allows me to enjoy the beautiful scenery here in Alabama mor

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

