Skip to content

Mutant Scrawberry

April 9, 2011
tags:

This little guy (and two nubby friends, I suppose) was in my pack of strawberries this morning. Berries seem very hit or miss this time of year and I’ve had to throw out a few moldy packages in the past couple of weeks, but it’s still exciting to be able to find strawberries for less than $3 in stores, which can only mean warm weather is here to stay.

Since it’s been a while since I last updated the blog, I thought I’d give an update on my art class. Design I has proven to be a challenge, but it’s become easier as the semester progressed. The most difficult project we were assigned was to reproduce an Old Master’s painting in a five value (white, black, and three shades of gray) grayscale. We could choose contemporary artists, and while I initially selected this underwater work by Nina Nolte, I realized it was highly unlikely that I would be able to paint anything close in appearance to a normal human, and instead changed to this Georgia O’Keefe Calla Lilly painting. Trust me, this work wasn’t easy either — painting is such a challenge. I’ve never taken an art class before or been taught how to paint, and my art teacher provided little instruction. I realized halfway through the project that part of my difficulties were a result of using paintbrushes made for kindergarteners and I solved that issue with a trip to Hobby Lobby. Below is my version of O’Keefe’s work:

All in all, I’m pleased with the way it turned out, in spite of my lack of skill and experience. If anything, I’ve developed a greater appreciation for all artists through attempting to create my own work. I’m in awe of Velázquez, who didn’t do preparatory sketches and yet managed to create masterpieces like Las Meninas with few mistakes on his first try.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

