Skip to content

‘Nana Bread

March 12, 2011

Profeet (v). – to tweet profanity

I love these recipes in the form of little pictures. I wouldn’t mind it if my job were making them. On a similar note, go purchase Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything or How to Cook Everything Vegetarian as soon as you possibly can. You will be ever so glad you did.

I baked this banana bread a few weeks ago for one of my fellow interns, Henry, who also happens to be a talented film student. It was meant to serve as a peace offering for falling asleep and not waking up in time for his 90s rap party. From what I’ve seen in pictures, the party looked pretty bumpin’, with gold chains and sideways caps and parachute pants and glitter. Henry is allergic to nuts, and as many of the treats I bring contain them, he often misses out. This banana bread, however, is completely nut-free and since half of this huge loaf had disappeared within a few hours, I think it’s safe to say it’s pretty good. You can definitely make them with walnuts or whatever suits your fancy, if you’re fortunate enough to be able to eat nuts.

No Nut Banana Bread

1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 c. very ripe mashed banana
1/4 c. soymilk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. sugar
2 large eggs or 6 tbsp egg whites

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×5″ loaf pan.
2) In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
3) In a small bowl, combine bananas, soymilk, and vanilla.
4) In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Alternate adding flour and banana mixture into mixture, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Combine until just blended.
5) Pour batter into pre-greased loaf pan and bake for around an hour and 10 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

I don’t think Geographer’s “Kites” is my usual music, but I like it nonetheless.

Did you know that cats can’t really experience the taste sensation of sweetness? But a giant panda bear definitely can and has a huge sweet tooth. The reason behind their tubbiness seems so clear now. NPR’s “Sci Fri” Science Fridays are going to have to become apart of my routine.

Selling chewing gum is illegal in Singapore. I find that so strange. My dad is visiting Singapore and Malaysia with a small group of his students right now, and I cannot wait until he is back home safely. I realize bad things can happen anywhere, but there just seems to be so much instability around the globe right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

