Skip to content

OIAJ

February 20, 2011

What is OIAJ?

Oats In A Jar.

When there’s only a wee bit (a tablespoon or so) of peanut butter left in the jar, I like to put 1/4-1/3 c. old fashioned oats and 1/2 c. – 2/3 c. of almond or soymilk inside, and leave it in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning, the oats have developed a thicker, more doughy texture, and make a good breakfast, especially when the weather is too warm for hot oatmeal.

One of my roommates told me that she had never thought of adding peanut butter or nut butter to oatmeal, but with its protein and healthy fats, it really is a good addition. After reading about homemade nut butters, I decided to make maple almond butter for my boyfriend the other day. Making homemade nut butter is fairly simple – all you need is 1 1/2 – 2 cups of nuts (almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, etc.) and a food processor. I added 3 tablespoons of maple syrup (but you don’t have to, of course) and added in oil (I used canola, but you can use whatever light-tasting oil you have on hand) whenever the mixture grew clumpy, and let the food processor do its work for about 15-20 minutes. It would also be a good idea to roast the nuts beforehand because I hear it makes the food processor’s job easier and thus, takes less time. You could also add a pinch of salt or chocolate or whatever you like.

I have always struggled with doing what will make others happy with me while placing my own contentment on the back burner. It’s difficult to be someone who is nurturing and supportive and also be someone who just doesn’t care what other people think about her – I think all those characteristics go hand in hand. But if you want to believe I’m always safe and sweet and one-dimensional, I can’t change that.

Be who you are, be who you are, be who you are.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

