Skip to content

THE Light Box and Oatmeal Cookies

January 26, 2011

Somehow, I managed to drag my sleepy body to the university rec center in the drizzling rain this morning , and proceeded to run further than I have in quite some time. I’ve been psyching myself out of running for the past couple of weeks by telling myself I can’t do it and that it’s too hard. Not anymore.

I mentioned my newly made light box in the post prior to this one and promised an explanation in the coming days. If you’re like me, you might be asking,”Light box? What in the dickens is that?” This, my friends, is a light box –

My light box is simply a large cardboard box with the top and both sides cut out and white tissue paper laid over the cut-out rectangular space. Surrounding the top and two sides are three utility clamp 100 watt daytime lights plugged into an extension cord. The tissue paper serves to diffuse the light from the bulbs, and in the back of the box, I can drape the fabric of my choice. In the photo below, it’s simply black felt, but in the photos I’ve taken during the past few days, it’s been a tan painter’s drop cloth. The purpose of the box overall is to aid me in taking better photos of food, as the light in my house is rather poor, especially during wintertime.

Earlier this evening, I found myself lying on my tummy in front of the light box, who has moved from when the picture above was taken to my floor of my bedroom so as to not inconvenience my roommates, and taking close-ups of oatmeal cookies.

See what I mean? The light in the photo seems more like it could have been taken during the afternoon, but no, it was definitely after 8 at night. It’s funny how such silly little things can make me so incredibly happy.

I made these cookies on a whim to bring to a meeting for my internship last night. I love the looks on people’s faces when I appear with warm cookies.   Here’s my current go-to cookie recipe:

Oatmeal Cookies (makes around 36 cookies or so, depending on how small or large you’d like them to be)

1 c. butter, softened
1 c. packed, light brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 c. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
3 c. quick cooking oats
1 c. chopped walnuts
1 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. cranberries
1/2 c. shredded coconut

1) Preheat oven to 324 degrees F.
2) Cream butter and sugars till smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then vanilla.
3) Combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir into creamed mix till just blended. Mix in oats, walnuts, chocolate chips, cranberries, and coconut. Drop tbsp full onto baking sheets.
4) Bake each sheet for approximately 12 minutes.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

